Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

03/03/2021

๐Ÿš•๐Ÿš– Taxi Chaos | Review | Xbox Series X | 5/10 | "A Missed Opportunity For Some Throwback Action" ๐Ÿš•๐Ÿš– @LionCastleEnt #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A title that is very clearly explicitly based on Sega’s Crazy Taxi from back in 1999, Taxi Chaos runs well from a technical standpoint and is initially fun but then falls down quickly in almost all other aspects.

01/03/2021

๐ŸŒŸ Tanuki Justice | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8/10 | "Retro Arcade Action Not For The Faint Of Heart" ๐ŸŒŸ @PixelHeart_eu #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Tanuki Justice was quite a surprise to me. I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when installing the game but I certainly wasn’t expecting what feels to me to be a faithful interpretation of a fictional 8-bit Japanese arcade game.

It’s well designed but I do feel that its appeal will be somewhat niche.

28/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿน Rogue Heroes: Ruins of Tasos | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8.5/10 | "Alone or with friends...it’s all good" ⚔️๐Ÿน @Team17 #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Rogue Heroes: Ruins of Tasos is a game that came across to me through the trailer as a multiplayer 16-bit Zelda title actually had more going on under the bonnet than I initially assumed and is all the better for it.

27/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘น⚔️ Hellpoint | Review | PS4 | 7/10 | "Did I Mention This Game Was Challenging?" ๐Ÿ‘น⚔️ @CradleGames #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
I will try to write this review without mentioning and drawing the obvious comparisons, to Dark Souls. 

I am better than that, aren’t I?

Let’s go!

24/02/2021

๐Ÿ’ฅ Speed Limit | Review | Nintendo Switch | 7.5/10 | "Live. Die. Repeat" ๐Ÿ’ฅ @gamechuckretro #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Speed Limit is a game that takes the player on brisk journeys across classic genres ranging from side-scrolling shooters to racing games and even isometric flight.

It's a game that works great in both single-player mode, ‘pass-the-pad’ party fun and I can also imagine is a keeper for the speedrunners out there.

23/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿ’€ Cathedral | Review | 8/10 | Nintendo Switch | "2D Metroidvania action with a chiptune soundtrack? Good" ๐Ÿ’€ @EldenPixels #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

An 8-bit styled Metroidvania, Cathedral really sucked me in with vibrant visuals and comfortably familiar gameplay. 

That said, musical issues and a clunky map do detract from the overall enjoyment.

Cathedral was a game I hadn’t heard of before but after a quick goosey at the trailer, I was sold. 2D Metroidvania action with a chiptune soundtrack? Good.

22/02/2021

๐Ÿ•ต️‍♀️ Dry Drowning | Review | Nintendo Switch | 7/10 | "A Cyberpunk Visual Novel" ๐Ÿ•ต️‍♀️ @VLGpublishing #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A cyberpunk, visual novel with light interactive elements, Dry Drowning has great presentation and an intriguing story to tell but is held back by some elements of characterisation and gameplay.

19/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘‍๐Ÿ—จ The Dark Eye : Chains Of Satinav | Review | Nintendo Switch | "A Game that will please old school point n click enthusiasts but that may also put off newcomers to the genre" ๐Ÿ‘‍๐Ÿ—จ @daedalic #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav was originally released by Daedalic Entertainment in 2012 on PC and has now come over to the Nintendo Switch.

The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav can definitely be defined as an old-school point-and-click adventure game and it's definitely entrenched in the design decisions that will please old school point n click enthusiasts but that may also put off newcomers to the genre as the frustration levels may increase unless you play with the assist / easy mode switched on.

18/02/2021

๐Ÿ–ฒ️ Glyph | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8/10 | "Glyph is an expansive title that has a lot under it’s sleek hood" ๐Ÿ–ฒ️ @PlayGlyph #IndieGame #GameDev #MadeWithUnity

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A game based on fluid movement and exploration, Glyph is an expansive title that has a lot under its sleek hood but also isn’t shy when it comes to the difficulty curve.

17/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ”ซ Gal*Gun Returns | Review | Nintendo Switch | "A Light Gun Would Light This Up" ๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ”ซ @PQubeAsia #GalGun

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Whilst I’m not familiar with the Gal*Gun series, my initial thought was that any rail-shooter that is to be controlled by anything other than a light gun would really suffer in the gameplay department and those worries were indeed well-founded. 

As well-presented as the game is, it feels to tame to be titillating and too repetitive to be engaging.

16/02/2021

๐Ÿ‰⚔️ Nioh 2 : The Complete Edition | PC | Review | "Swinging Your Spiky Balls Around Has Never Been So Much Fun!" ⚔️๐Ÿ‰ #Nioh2

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Nioh 2: The Complete Edition, was released on the 5th of Feb and I'm excited to be to tell it’s not only beautiful but it’s astonishingly good fun to play! For those unfamiliar with Nioh 2, you will get to Become a fully-fledged Samurai in a brutal action-packed adventure set in a reimagined magic-enthused Japan during the Sengoku period.

15/02/2021

๐Ÿ›‹️ Moving Out | Review | X Box Series X | 9/10 | "An extremely fun and silly party game that will clearly remain installed for a long time to come" ๐Ÿ›‹️ @smgstudio #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Upon seeing the trailer for Moving Out, I initially assumed it was some sort of mobile port due to the top-down viewpoint and colourful aesthetic. 

I’m VERY glad that my intuition won out and I ended up playing the game, however, as it’s an extremely fun and silly party game that will clearly remain installed for a long time to come (especially as there is imminent DLC!).

14/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘’ Evan’s Remains | PC | Review by Pixel Hunted | 2/10 | "Evan’s Remains is about hitting ‘A’ over and over and over (and over) again" ๐Ÿ‘’ @PixelHunted # Evansremains #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Evan’s Remains is about hitting ‘A’ over and over and over (and over) again. 

The game is 80% visual novel and 20% game: a barely interactive experience in which your participation is mostly jamming a button to cue up the next bit of bad writing.

13/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿฒ Morbid: Seven Acolytes | Review | Nintendo Switch | "A Lovecraftian Hack n' Slasher ARPG That is Really Punishing" ⚔️๐Ÿฒ @MorbidTheGame #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A Lovecraftian hack n' slasher ARPG that is really punishing at first? 

That, reader, is the sound of my boxes being ticked.

Morbid: Seven Acolytes packs a ton of lore and gore into a very nice-looking package. The pixel-art graphics are really lovely and detailed, letting you see the frankly disgusting range of enemies and characters that populate the world of Mornia.

12/02/2021

⛏️ Aground | Review (revisited) | XBox Series X | "One of The Best Games I Have Ever Played 10/10" ⛏️ @WhiteThornGames #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

I first reviewed Aground in its initial PC incarnation back in July 2020 (https://www.gamesfreezer.co.uk/2020/07/aground-pc-review-best-2-d-crafting.html) and I absolutely adored it. Rich (my hateful, drunken boss) tends to cover a lot of the PC games we receive for review and I lean more towards console releases.

I mention in my original review that it was totally by chance that I picked it out for coverage when my Switch was being Animal Crossing-ed to death by someone who shall remain nameless* and I’m so glad that I was introduced to it.

11/02/2021

๐Ÿ’ฅ Turrican Flashback | Nintendo Switch | Review | "Turrican was a must-have video game and every kid at our school had it" ๐Ÿ’ฅ @ININ_Games #RetroGaming #Turrican

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

In the days of the Commodore Amiga, Turrican was a must-have video game and every kid at our school had it. 

Turrican was famous for running and gunning your way through levels using creative weapons, destructive bombs and sometimes even a grappling hook! It was a great series and now you finally get the chance to relive this great series on one release from Inin Games.

10/02/2021

๐Ÿ•ต️‍♂️ Disjunction | Review | Nintendo Switch | "Cyberpunk is a Genre That Always Makes My Bronzed Fists Vibrate" ๐Ÿ•ต️‍♂️ @soldout #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Cyberpunk is a genre that always makes my bronzed fists vibrate. You know there’ll be achingly beautiful music, towering cityscapes lit at night and a moody tale to tuck into, populated by shadowy characters.

Whilst stealth has often been a part of this, I believe that Disjunction is the first Cyberpunk game that I’ve played with such a heavy focus on the stealth aspect.

Whilst Disjunction is a solid game with a great, pixelated aesthetic and music, I couldn’t help but wish the focus was more on narrative as opposed to stage-by-stage sneakiness as I enjoyed the setting, audio and presentation so much.

09/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ€ Hero U : Rogue To Redemption | Review | Nintendo Switch | "Hero U Combines Old School Point n Click Adventure Style Gameplay with a Harry Potter Style Storyline" ⚔️๐Ÿฐ๐Ÿ€ @SilesiaGames #GameDev #IndieGames #PointNClick

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Silesia Games brings us Hero-U: Rogue to Redemption and manages to somehow effortlessly combine old school point n click adventure style gameplay with an intriguing Harry Potter esque storyline which is set around a small but perfectly formed set of memorable characters and on the switch I feel that this game really comes into its own.

Hero-U is a spiritual sequel to a game series that was released in the ‘90s called Quest for Glory and after playing Hero-U Rogue To Redemption I’m intrigued by the Quest For Glory anthology of video games as I missed those titles the first time around.

08/02/2021

๐Ÿ›ธ๐Ÿš€ Habroxia 2 | Review | Nintendo Switch | "After a ‘mental reboot’, I realised the subtle genius of the design" ๐Ÿ›ธ๐Ÿš€ @LillymoGames #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Upon initially playing Habroxia 2, the game didn’t quite click with me and it was very much my fault. 

After a ‘mental reboot’, I realised the subtle genius of the design and from that moment onwards, my trousers were very much down.

๐ŸŽฎ Featured Posts ๐ŸŽฎ