Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

16/03/2021

๐Ÿฆ€๐Ÿ️๐Ÿ›‹️ Moving Out DLC: "Movers In Paradise" | Nintendo Switch | Review | "Just Another Day In Moving Paradise" ๐Ÿฆ€๐Ÿ️๐Ÿ›‹️ @MovingOutGame #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Moving Out has become a firm family favourite during 2021 as we spend a lot of time at home playing video games together as a family (this purchase was inspired by Britt's review)

Our previous favourite was Overcooked from Team 17 with its manic cooking madness.

Moving Out has superseded Overcooked though because the variety of fun to be had with four players while trying to fling sofas onto the back of a truck in a time limit is absolutely limitless. 

14/03/2021

๐ŸŒ„๐Ÿ—ฟ Summer Catchers | Review | Nintendo Switch | "Summer Loving Had Me A Blast!" ๐ŸŒ„๐Ÿ—ฟ @SummerCatchers #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Summer Catchers has been out on PC since July 2019 and it’s a game that passed me by. 

Fast forward to 2021 and now it’s on Nintendo Switch I think I have discovered a video game that will stick with me for a very long time to come. 

Summer Catchers is……….bloody marvellous.

12/03/2021

๐Ÿ’ฃ Papi Commando 2: Second Blood | Review | 8/10 | Mega Drive | "There’s No Blood Like Second Blood" ๐Ÿ’ฃ @Broke_Studio #IndieGames #GameDev #HomeBrew #SEGA

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Here at GF, we are big fans of homebrew titles being released on older consoles and games such as Devwill Too and Flea! have been great examples of small development teams creating great games.
I’m pleased to say that Studio Vetea’s Papi Commando 2 continues this trend. A cartoonish arena shooter for up to two players with 100 levels to explore, it’s a great new game to add to your Mega Drive collection.

11/03/2021

๐Ÿ‘‘๐Ÿฐ Castle Kong | Nintendo Switch | Review | 6/10 | "For Die Hard Donkey Kong fans Who Want to Really Challenge Their High Score Prowess / Patience" ๐Ÿ‘‘๐Ÿฐ @DrowningMonkeys #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Castle Kong is a homage to the legendary Donkey Kong and comes from the Drowning Monkeys devs.

The initial big draw for this game was the high score comp that was run alongside its release which was a great way to get people hyped for the game coming out.

In the cold light of day though now the competition has concluded what is the game actually like to play. Well if you like Donkey Kong then you’ll like this.

10/03/2021

๐Ÿน๐Ÿง›‍♂️ Wallachia: Reign of Dracula | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8/10 | "8-Way Combat is The Order of The Day" ๐Ÿน๐Ÿง›‍♂️ @Migami_Games #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Following my review of Tanuki Justice a few days ago, a game from publisher Pixelheart that calls to mind the 8-bit Japanese arcade era, it was interesting to follow up that review with another game – again from Pixelheart – that shifts gears to the 16-bit era. 

Wallachia: Reign of Dracula is a  game that follows the tale of a vampire hunter as she bows-and-arrows (definitely a real term, don’t look it up) her way through seven stages of vintage arcade action in a bid to finally fire an arrow right up Dracula’s jacksie and put a stop to his haemoglobin-fuelled shenanigans.

09/03/2021

๐Ÿ‘Š SNK vs. Capcom: Match of the Millennium | Review | Nintendo Switch | "Pocket Sized & Packing A Punch!" ๐Ÿ‘Š

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
About 20 years ago a game called SNK vs. Capcom: Match of the Millennium came out on the Neo Geo Pocket and made the Neo Geo Pocket Colour worth buying! 

It was such a highly regarded title that more Neo Geo Pocket Colours were bought because of this title than any other game on the system. It was seen as the killer app that might make the Pocket Colour a viable opponent of the Game Boy Colour (that didn't work out too well in the end)

08/03/2021

๐Ÿท GUNPIG: Firepower For Hire | Review | Nintendo Switch | "I'd definitely be up for more of this!" ๐Ÿท @FlynnsArcades #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

To quote my friend Britt, also of this parish: "A third of the game is cutscenes, they are hurling around characters' names which all sound similar and sometimes refer to the same person in a light/dark/alternate version. So in one scene, they can refer to one character by multiple names...and they haven't yet been introduced."

He wasn't talking about Gunpig, of course. 

06/03/2021

๐Ÿ•ท️๐Ÿ•ธ️ Kill It With Fire | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8/10 | "You are a pest exterminator, albeit one that has scant regard for the property of others." ๐Ÿ•ท️๐Ÿ•ธ️ @caseydonnellan #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
If like me, you struggle with arachnids then Kill It With Fire will be an experience that has you running the emotional gamut from twisted, sadistic pleasures to creeping fear and tension.

05/03/2021

๐ŸŒŸ Anodyne 2: Return to Dust | Review | XBOX Series X | 9/10 | "A Beautifully Realised World With a Wonderful Tale To Tell" ๐ŸŒŸ @analgesicprod #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

It was only a few weeks ago that I noticed a comment on Twitter, lamenting how few games there were that were presented with PS1-era polygonal visuals.

Fast forward a few days to me watching a trailer for Anodyne 2: Return to Dust, a game which not only featured such visuals…but looked so interesting that I had to seek it out as soon as possible, it was my destiny.

04/03/2021

๐ŸŽง Stealth Shadow X & Stealth Conqueror (Arctic Camo Edition) | Gaming Headset Review ๐ŸŽง @StealthGameNet #HeadsetReview

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Kindly sent in from the folks at Stealth, I believe it’s the first time on the site that we have covered their products – or at least I have – and it was fun to dive in and see what these headsets had to offer.

Whilst the Shadow X was the clear favourite for me personally, I can see the appeal that the Conqueror would have not only for its aesthetic and complimentary stand but also for children and those of you blessed with smaller ears.

03/03/2021

๐Ÿš•๐Ÿš– Taxi Chaos | Review | Xbox Series X | 5/10 | "A Missed Opportunity For Some Throwback Action" ๐Ÿš•๐Ÿš– @LionCastleEnt #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A title that is very clearly explicitly based on Sega’s Crazy Taxi from back in 1999, Taxi Chaos runs well from a technical standpoint and is initially fun but then falls down quickly in almost all other aspects.

01/03/2021

๐ŸŒŸ Tanuki Justice | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8/10 | "Retro Arcade Action Not For The Faint Of Heart" ๐ŸŒŸ @PixelHeart_eu #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Tanuki Justice was quite a surprise to me. I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when installing the game but I certainly wasn’t expecting what feels to me to be a faithful interpretation of a fictional 8-bit Japanese arcade game.

It’s well designed but I do feel that its appeal will be somewhat niche.

28/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿน Rogue Heroes: Ruins of Tasos | Review | Nintendo Switch | 8.5/10 | "Alone or with friends...it’s all good" ⚔️๐Ÿน @Team17 #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Rogue Heroes: Ruins of Tasos is a game that came across to me through the trailer as a multiplayer 16-bit Zelda title actually had more going on under the bonnet than I initially assumed and is all the better for it.

27/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘น⚔️ Hellpoint | Review | PS4 | 7/10 | "Did I Mention This Game Was Challenging?" ๐Ÿ‘น⚔️ @CradleGames #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
I will try to write this review without mentioning and drawing the obvious comparisons, to Dark Souls. 

I am better than that, aren’t I?

Let’s go!

24/02/2021

๐Ÿ’ฅ Speed Limit | Review | Nintendo Switch | 7.5/10 | "Live. Die. Repeat" ๐Ÿ’ฅ @gamechuckretro #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Speed Limit is a game that takes the player on brisk journeys across classic genres ranging from side-scrolling shooters to racing games and even isometric flight.

It's a game that works great in both single-player mode, ‘pass-the-pad’ party fun and I can also imagine is a keeper for the speedrunners out there.

23/02/2021

⚔️๐Ÿ’€ Cathedral | Review | 8/10 | Nintendo Switch | "2D Metroidvania action with a chiptune soundtrack? Good" ๐Ÿ’€ @EldenPixels #GameDev #IndieGames

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

An 8-bit styled Metroidvania, Cathedral really sucked me in with vibrant visuals and comfortably familiar gameplay. 

That said, musical issues and a clunky map do detract from the overall enjoyment.

Cathedral was a game I hadn’t heard of before but after a quick goosey at the trailer, I was sold. 2D Metroidvania action with a chiptune soundtrack? Good.

22/02/2021

๐Ÿ•ต️‍♀️ Dry Drowning | Review | Nintendo Switch | 7/10 | "A Cyberpunk Visual Novel" ๐Ÿ•ต️‍♀️ @VLGpublishing #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

A cyberpunk, visual novel with light interactive elements, Dry Drowning has great presentation and an intriguing story to tell but is held back by some elements of characterisation and gameplay.

19/02/2021

๐Ÿ‘‍๐Ÿ—จ The Dark Eye : Chains Of Satinav | Review | Nintendo Switch | "A Game that will please old school point n click enthusiasts but that may also put off newcomers to the genre" ๐Ÿ‘‍๐Ÿ—จ @daedalic #IndieGames #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav was originally released by Daedalic Entertainment in 2012 on PC and has now come over to the Nintendo Switch.

The Dark Eye: Chains of Satinav can definitely be defined as an old-school point-and-click adventure game and it's definitely entrenched in the design decisions that will please old school point n click enthusiasts but that may also put off newcomers to the genre as the frustration levels may increase unless you play with the assist / easy mode switched on.

๐ŸŽฎ Featured Posts ๐ŸŽฎ