find
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label review. Show all posts

18/04/2024

Persona 3 Reload PS5 Review 9.5/10 “A Kind of Magic” πŸ«πŸŽ’ @Atlus_West #Persona3

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Persona 3 Reload PS5 Review
Persona 3 was my first experience with the Persona franchise, I remember picking it up on release day, I had no idea what to expect but it was a JRPG - so it didn’t matter, for I consumed anything in that genre. What followed after playing it was a deep love, I thought it was awesome, stylish, cool, and featured a story that to me - at sixteen - felt very adult, tackling some deep issues through the lens of youth, and it resonated with me.

Then, eleven years later Persona 5 was released and it became one of my favourite gaming experiences ever, it is a top 3 game for me and I will gush about it any time I can. So, when this remake was announced I was beyond excited, it was going to be Persona 3 with the Persona 5 coat of paint - how could it not be awesome?

17/04/2024

Spear Master Nintendo Switch Review 7.5/10 "Worth a Chuck" 🏹 @OsarionGames #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Spear Master Nintendo Switch Review
Clearly taking inspiration from arcade classic Pang!, Spear Master is a smooth, charming, and unfussy game that works just as well in solo play as it does with friends.

As the Spear Master, you are guided by your father in the ways of the spear, through over one hundred levels, you – and up to three other players – will traverse the islands, popping the bubble threat that invades your lands. 

Outer Terror Nintendo Switch Video Review 7/10 "A Set of Distorted Pixelated Nightmare Hellscapes" πŸ“Ί @VoxPopGames #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Outer Terror Nintendo Switch Video Review

DON’T DIE as you assemble a ridiculous arsenal of weapons and desperately hold out against massive hordes of creatures pulled from a variety of classic horror genres reminiscent of 80s and 90s Golden Age comics and B-movies in this stylish action-packed arcade roguelite.

VIDEO REVIEW πŸ‘‡

16/04/2024

West Hunt Nintendo Switch Review 6/10 🀠 @SnailGamesUSA #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
West Hunt Nintendo Switch Review
There are plenty of online games out there for you to have fun -both solo or with multiple people -and I think with some many porting to handheld devices, you might get a bit flustered about which ones to choose from. Hopefully, after you see this review of West Hunt on the Nintendo Switch, you might have a clearer mind in terms of what you may choose.

12/04/2024

Dragon’s Dogma 2 Xbox Review 9/10 "The most fun I’ve had in a single player game in 2024" ⚔️🐲πŸ”₯πŸ‘Ή @DragonsDogma #DragonsDogma2

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Dragon’s Dogma 2  Xbox Review
As someone who is – and will be forever – drawn towards single player RPGs, The last few months have been very, very fun. I’ve played three games that stand out in my mind for different reasons, and between them cover a lot of the main points that appeal to me about the genre at its core.

Banishers: Ghosts of New Eden won me over with its understated characters, music, atmospherics and earthiness, whilst Outcast: A New Beginning featured incredible traversal mechanics and lore, and now Dragon’s Dogma 2 – and out of the three, this is the title that I, by far, have the strongest history with – comes blazing out of the gate with its main strengths being in how much it embraces and excels at being a video game, completely nailing combat mechanics and explosive, immediate gameplay.

It’s a game that is a pleasure to write about, and I feel like I could just list all of my in-game experiences to get my point across because there are so many personal stories to tell, all through a design sentiment that eschews seriousness to put fun and gameplay at the absolute fore.

11/04/2024

Bang On Balls - Chronicles Nintendo Switch Review 8/10 "a unique, content-packed, open-world sandbox adventure" πŸš€πŸŒŒπŸŒŽ @bangonballs #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Bang On Balls - Chronicles Nintendo Switch Review

Are you looking for a thrilling 3D game that you can enjoy with your friends?

If so, then Bang-On Balls: Chronicles may be just what you need.

It is a unique, content-packed, open-world sandbox adventure that offers multiple elements such as combat, platforming, character customization, and a scavenger hunting experience.

Bitmap Books – The Unofficial N64: A Visual Compendium Review By Britt πŸ“šπŸ“– @bitmap_books #Retrogaming #N64

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

The last Bitmap Book release that we covered here at Games Freezer was the incredible From Ants to Zombies: Six Decades of Video Game Horror, a book that could very well be – and indeed is - one of the best gaming-related pieces of literature that I’ve ever had the pleasure of inhaling.

It’s a slight change of pace here, from the many forked branches of horror through to a visual compendium focused on the much beloved fan favourite Nintendo 64, whether through many a blistering, thumb-stick breaking multiplayer session of Goldeneye, marvelling at Mario in 3D, or zooming across Hyrule Fields in Zelda, there are millions of memories out there that began with that trusty trident controller in-hand.

10/04/2024

Outcast: A New Beginning Xbox Review 7.5/10 "An Outcast No More" πŸ’₯🌴 @OutcastGame #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Outcast: A New Beginning Xbox Review
I’ve had a spotted history with Outcast, when it was originally released in 1999, I played it briefly over a friend’s house and was entranced by the world conjured and possibilities laid out. The unfortunate thing was, I didn’t have a PC that could really get the most out of it at the time, and I fell away from it – assuming that I’d return soon – but the next time I spent any time with the game was when I picked up Outcast: Second Contact in 2020, and, revisiting the game so long after release highlighted the sheer scope and imagination of developers Appeal Studios, along with the unavoidable fact that the design and mechanics were lodged in a transitory period of the third-person open-world genre, and had aged appropriately.

Thus, when I caught wind of this new entry in the franchise- pseudo-reboot, pseudo-revising, pseudo-revisiting pseudo-sequel – call it what you want – I was glad to discover that I feel that this I finally the most complete, accessible, and wonderful way to know the story of the impossibly named ‘Cutter Slade’, and appreciate the full scale of the dev’s vision. A vision set into motion almost thirty years ago.

08/04/2024

Unstoppable PC Review 5/10 "You play a bicycle courier, tasked with delivering a mysterious package to a skyscraper" πŸ©ΈπŸ”¨ @unstoppable_go #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Unstoppable PC Review
When I saw the trailer for Unstoppable, I thought “smacking things with hammers and crowbars until they die – right up my alley!” and eagerly volunteered to review the game.

But we all make mistakes. 

05/04/2024

Welcome to ParadiZe Xbox Series X Review 6/10 "More PontinZ than ParadiZe" 🐘 #IndieGame #GameDev #PvE #Zombies

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Welcome to ParadiZe Xbox Series X Review
Welcome to Paradize promised a lot of zany zombie shenanigans through its trailer, but unfortunately the released game feels a watered down version of what could have been, and as the core gameplay loop is so well-worn, there’s not enough to really suck players in and chew the meat from the bones of their expectations.

I first caught wind of Welcome to Paradize a couple of months ago, and having been on a bit of an isometric / action run recently I was quite keen to start smashing and blasting some zombie heads, whilst the survival and crafting elements seemed accessible enough to have fun with, without getting bogged down in menus etc.

04/04/2024

Bio, Inc Review By Dr Congo Fighting "It’s Kill or Cure" 🦠 @DryGinStudios #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Bio, Inc Review
Let’s just address the elephant in the room. About a decade ago, a game called Plague, Inc came out. It was published by Ndemic Creations, and it was a smash hit. In it, you played the part of a disease, with your aim being to wipe out humanity by evolving various symptoms, and trying to beat to the punch a global effort to create a cure. 

Bio, Inc is not that game, and nor is it a sequel. Neither is it made by Ndemic Creations, instead coming out of software house DryGin Studios. However, it is (to me, at least) a spiritual successor to Plague, Inc and shares a lot of its mechanics (and both have shared origins as mobile games), but with a few significant differences. It’s hard not to make comparisons between the two games, but I’ll do my best. Because I love you. Anyway, elephant done. 

28/03/2024

Cybertrash STATYX Xbox Review 7/10 "A Fun Throwback in The Run ‘n Gun Genre" πŸ’₯ #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Cybertrash STATYX  Xbox Review
Recent rumblings of folks who seem to be of the mind that pixel graphics are tired and old can be pushed aside, because it’s clear that there’s plenty of milage in beautiful, hand-drawn visuals yet, as illustrated by Cybertrash STATYX, a game that casts you in the role of Jenet, a woman who – like many – seem to have completely lost their memories prior to being involved in a program to ascertain their physical and mental abilities so that they can be ‘correctly’ re-introduced to society, whilst the reasons that they were initially extricated from society are curiously obfuscated…

27/03/2024

VGM Essentials - SARE Vinyl Review By Lo Fi Lee "Music across all eras and systems, ranging from 1997’s Final Fantasy 7, all the way up to Genshin Impact" πŸ“€ @FiragaRecords #Vinyl #VideoGameVinyl

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
VGM Essentials - SARE Vinyl Review
The mighty Firaga Records return, this time with an album from British producer SARE and a cast of co-producers and featured artists. The VGM Essentials series consists of covers and remixes of game music across all eras and systems, in this case ranging from 1997’s smash Final Fantasy 7, all the way up to current mobile gachathon Genshin Impact. The ten-track record, pressed on black vinyl, comes in a card sleeve with anime-themed artwork from Ginkgosan.

26/03/2024

Jagged Alliance 3 XSX Review 9/10 "A Modern Turn-Based Classic" πŸ’₯ @THQNordic

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Jagged Alliance 3 Review
A series of turn-based games that have roots going way back to 1994, Jagged Alliance has always enjoyed critical success – and yet it’s a series of games I’ve only touched upon briefly since its inception in the mid-’90s. I recall having some friends who were hips deep, thinking very highly of the franchise, and so when the opportunity came up to cover the third major entry, I was keen to have a goosey.

25/03/2024

Boiling Point: Road to Hell PC Review 7/10 "Arnold Vosloo Kicks Ass Once More" πŸš›πŸ’₯ @playziggurat #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

In quite a few of my reviews covering beloved (by me, at least) yet shonky games – usually open-world RPGs from the mid 2000’s – Boiling Point often crops up, alongside Xenus 2: White Gold (an oddly-named sequel to Boiling Point: Road to Hell), Precursers, and Hard Truck Apocalypse (which has AMAZING music).

The first two of which come from the same developer, Deep Shadows, a company that seem to have moved into hidden object and mobile titles, which is a shame, as they have real character and craft. If each game mentioned here had more time and money invested, they would be classics still talked of today.

22/03/2024

Berserk Boy Nintendo Switch Review 9/10 "It pretty much hits the bullseye." ⚡️ @BerserkBoyGame #indieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
Berserk Boy Nintendo Switch Review
Berserk Boy is the latest in a long line of Metroidvania platformers to try and capture the pure retro feel of Mega Man and its contemporaries. Happily, it pretty much hits the bullseye.

The backstory is your basic mad scientist fare, where the bad guy wants to use Dark Energy powers to take over the world. You play as Kei, young soldier who meets a talking owl called Fiore, who leads you to a strange orb which grants you powers and abilities and the adventure begins.

Gameplay-wise we're very much in Mega Man territory, with the classic Metroidvania tropes of defeating enemies while exploring the map, using new abilities to unlock areas and so on. But this isn't just exploration - as you unlock new abilities you find yourself able to chain multiple attacks together in order to build up your Berserk meter, which lets you really let rip with special attacks. 

The key focus here is melee combat - you're not hanging back and taking pot-shots but rather you're right in the thick of it. And that's one of the things that really makes this game fun; you'll find yourself moving around faster and faster to get the perfect sequence before hitting the big moves. The speed and smoothness give the game almost a Sonic the Hedgehog feel, where you're bouncing from enemy to enemy and seeking out more victims on every screen. 

The graphics are very much in keeping with the retro theme: bright and colourful with big chunky sprites that would fit perfectly on the SNES. And the excellent music comes from Tee Lopes, who wrote much of the music for Sonic Mania and TMNT: Shredder's Revenge, so you're onto a winner here as well.

As you beat the various bosses, you can unlock different transformations for Kei. Each defeated boss gives you a new way to smash through levels, whether it's digging tunnels, flying or even locking on to multiple enemies at once. You also build up currency that lets you use new abilities for each transformation, so there's a sense of progression throughout too.

If I had to find a drawback, it's that the game isn't massively challenging, although you can select the Retro difficulty level at the start, which gives you the traditional limited lives, so when it's game over it really is game over, whereas the modern setting is unlimited lives and you just get kicked back to the last checkpoint. This is nowhere near a dealbreaker though, as the game is just so much fun. 

SUMMARY
Berserk Boy Nintendo Switch ReviewBerserk Boy Nintendo Switch Review

If you're a retro platformer buff this is pretty much a must-buy, and it's accessible enough for all ages to have a blast. More of this please.
Berserk Boy Nintendo Switch Review

21/03/2024

QHOT Wireless Lavalier Microphone Unboxing & Testing "A Budget Wireless Lavalier Under £25" 🎀

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

 

Rich unboxes and tests the QHOT Wireless Lavalier Microphone and sees what it can do for under £25.

🎀 Amazon Affiliate Link: https://amzn.to/3vcxgNj



Cannibal Abduction Xbox Series X 7/10 “Leatherface Upstairs, Having a Quick 40 Winks” 🏠 @selewidev @transvaalgf #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On
CANNIBAL ABDUCTION Xbox Review
In Cannibal Abduction, you play as Henry - a man who has borrowed his father’s car and is looking to spend time away from his parents; let his hair down, drive the open roads etc. and all was looking good until the engine blows and he is stuck in the middle of absolutely nowhere. 

His luck picks up when a very friendly man offers to take him back to his house and fix the car. Henry agrees, and off to the house they go. Whilst the man fixes the car, he notices tools in Henry’s car and asks about them, he learns that Henry has carpentry experience and asks if he could do him a favour and fix his wife's wardrobe upstairs. It’s a fair deal - he fixes the car, Henry fixes the wardrobe.

Now, on the one hand it was nice of Henry to help, but personally I have a rule in life - if a house looks like Leatherface may be upstairs having a quick 40 winks, I refuse to enter and run as fast as I can in any direction to get as far away as I possibly can. 

I understand that Henry would have to explain to his dad what had happened to the car, but I think that any truly loving father can understand that dodging a possibly cannibalistic family is more important than his nice car. Sadly for Henry, he doesn't live by my rules and well, spoiler alert! He gets chased by a cabbalistic madman.

20/03/2024

Devil Inside Us: Roots of Evil Review 6/10 πŸ‘Ώ ✝️ @MrSkullGameStu @FernandoTittz @ElderDefensor #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Devil Inside Us: Roots of Evil Review
Devil Inside Us: Roots of Evil is based around a 74-year-old priest trying to save a family in a cursed home, the curse is initially making the fathers of the family murder their children, a sinister story indeed.

To stop this, he uses his abilities as a medium to exercise the evil that lives inside, but after 30 years he is drawn back to the original house to find that the same curse still lives…

19/03/2024

Alisa: Developer’s Cut PS5 Review 8.5/10 “Made in Heaven” 🏚️ @TransVaalGF @CasperCroes #IndieGame #GameDev

Share This Post On Share to Facebook Share to Twitter Share This Post On

Alisa Developer's Cut PS5 Review
When I watched the trailer for Alisa: Developer's Cut, I thought, “ah, this game definitely has an early Resident Evil vibe”, then as the trailer was coming to an end there is a shot-for-shot remake of the first time you see a zombie in the original Resident Evil, so that absolutely confirmed my thoughts.

Now, over the last few years I’ve played so many ‘We wish we were still in the late ‘90s, playing Resident Evil, when tank controls and fixed camera angles were all the rage and will never ever be replaced’ that it really at this point should be a category on Steam, so many games have tried to capture survival horrors past - with varying degrees of success - and I found that the more of them I played, the more the nostalgia wore off.

Nostalgia can only take you so far and underneath these games you needed to capture the past but also bring your own flavour, as well. With these thoughts in mind, I was understandably elated when that was exactly what Alisa did. Yes, it very much wears its Resident Evil one influence on its heart, but it adds enough interesting twists to feel fresh.